A Sure Dwelling Place, Part 7

This will be the last post before the final outcome of our journey.  This next week we will either have a miracle or we will be moving to wherever the Lord will lead us.  This story as I look back has been an unbelievable journey of faith and growth.  We are so tired, but know the end is in sight.  If nothing happens, we will have to move out by next Wed. the 15th.  We have made no provisions for what we will do.

February 10, 2012

We have all the money for the price of the house except $20,000.  Our warrior is scrambling and insists that the house won’t be lost for such a mere amount.  Yet, without it we will have to move out.  We’ve been cleaning cupboards but not packing.  Words cannot describe the tension we are battling every moment of every day.  Yet, we both feel His presence in the midst of it.  It is about the fight now to rise above our human natural tendency to panic.

We have been attacked on every side.   We have friends judging us and calling us crazy because we have not moved by now.  We have friends who want to run the show but have produced nothing.  We have had friends flippingly tell us, “Well, I guess you’ll be moving” , with not a clue how that would affect us.  We know we are being judged and condemned as foolish and unwise.  Hmmmmm…seems like I remember a lot of other people in the bible who were also thought crazy.    We just smile and continue in forgiveness. Throughout it all we have been taught many valuable lessons.   The disillusionment with people has only served to reveal that if we are DISillusioned, then at some point we were living in an illusion.  Who wants to live in an illusion?  It is not truth…we see what we want to see.  But people are people.  They say a lot of things.  We are called by God to minister His kingdom living to them.  But the minute our eyes focus on people to deliver us we open the door for the works of the flesh to enter in.

I have come to realize that God can use people and usually does, but He is certainly not limited to that.  He can also bring people you don’t even know to invest in you so no one can get the glory for His deliverance but Him.  That is what we perceive He is doing in this situation.

God often causes delays in our lives that we cannot understand. It may seem our obedience is not getting rewarded. Jesus said He learned obedience through the things He suffered (see Heb. 5:8). Now, I know what that means.  So much truth comes into focus through these kinds of trials.  Imagine that – Jesus having to learn obedience. Sometimes God’s delays are simply because He wants more glory in the situation, more recognition, more Christ-likeness in you and me through greater patience and obedience. “Faint not, for the promise is yet come”, He says.

Lord, this is my prayer today:  Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord;  I will take joy in the God of my salvation. Even thought we are pressed on every side by troubles, we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed. I will continue to rejoice in You Lord.  We are at the midnight hour and yet I am still alive.  I haven’t died.  Though I thought I might.  I have a smile on my face.  I love you!! (Hab 3:17-18,  2Cor. 4)

That afternoon I received the following email from the representative of the new owner:

Just checking in to be sure we are on track for vacancy on the 15th.  If you’d like me to stop by and pick up keys, openers, etc from you that day I can do so, or you are welcome to drop them by my office at 2540 Professional Pkwy.  Whatever is easiest is fine – just let me know either way so I can plan and advise the owner.”

You can imagine the thoughts running through my head at this point but I am not giving into them.  I will not be crushed or driven to despair.  Remember back a few months ago when the Lord told me to ‘Hold onto my hat, that the winds are blowing?”   I can now tell you that I have truly felt those spiritual winds like never before and I had no idea at the time what He meant…….

2 Corinthians 1:8–9, “We were crushed and overwhelmed beyond our ability to endure, and we thought we would never live through it. In fact, we expected to die. But as a result, we stopped relying on ourselves and learned to rely only on God, who raises the dead.”

Next week:   We will have the answer….

Leave a Reply

