Musings of What I Learned in the Lion’s Den

I had no idea what it was like to come down from a year long endurance test.  We thought when the house was once again ours that we would just be back to normal immediately.  Not so!!  When your physical self is in constant adrenaline flow, that fight or flight response that comes when you sense danger, even when you are walking in faith, you don’t just immediately “get back to normal.”  For one thing your soulish realm (mind, will, and emotions) has to come back into a rest and let go, without constantly focusing on the one thing you were believing for.  I couldn’t afford to let down my shield of faith for even a moment.  I have experienced weird sensations of exhaustion and irritableness.  It has been kind of like that letdown after Christmas as a kid.  Something you are so into that it consumes you and then, just like that, it is over.  I found myself longing for the constancy of the trial, believe it or not.  I was so close to Jesus throughout the ordeal for survival, that when it was over I had to make a conscious effort to keep that presence going in every day normal life.  I missed Him.  I realized whose fault that was right away; certainly not His.  So, back to the dining room table  I went (where I meet Him in the mornings) and began my journal talking to Him once again;  Onto bigger things with Jesus.  Only I don’t know what those bigger things are yet.  Another adventure!!

First I must look at what I learned throughout this trial of huge proportions.  I still marvel at how it all happened and the miracle that no one can refute was straight from God.  People who know us are still shaking their heads and marveling.  It truly was not just about us.  That I do know.  It is not that we are different or have more faith than others.  I believe we have been examples, used by Him to help others realize the full potential of how we were all meant to live; In the Gospel of Kingdom living that He so completely provided for us.  If this walk speaks to even one that He is all powerful and no respecter of persons, and that He will do the same for anyone who calls upon His name it will be worth it.

So many times I struggled with feelings and perceptions about losing my house.  But soon realized that feelings could not be the basis of what I was standing for.  Faith believes in things you cannot see or feel.    Faith comes from knowing Him.  The more we have an intimate relationship with Him and listen to Him, either through His word or through time just spent sitting at His feet, the more we trust Him to do what He says He will do. As I look back over the blog of the whole story I realize that I went through the throes of grief in the whole process until I had finally accepted His perfect will and if that meant giving up my home, then I had to be willing.  The biggest thing I now see in clarity is that His deliverance came from us losing the house altogether, when it sold out from under us in a day’s time.  If we had not lost the house we would never have witnessed  His miracle working power in getting it back to us, with smaller payments, and with such a huge opportunity to buy it back at less than what we owed in the first place.   I ask you.  When does that happen?   Difficulty does not necessarily mean disaster.  Heavy winds and seas don’t necessarily mean you’re on the wrong course.   It sometimes means we are right on target.

Keeping the faith requires a fight.  2 Timothy says to “fight the good fight of faith”.  At times the evidence against us stacks up so high against the assurances that we figure there is no way this could happen and we are tempted to just give up.  If we had given up and moved out even a day before our eviction date we would not have seen His promise come to pass.  Oh, I believe He would have had a plan B for us elsewhere, but oh the glory of His miraculous power of the moment that we would have missed.  Boy, the absolute adrenaline that flowed that day before the deadline, when we knew that if we had to leave we had no place to go because we decided to make no provision for ourselves, was all consuming.

But, you know, the biggest thing I can say to you at this point about faith is this:  We can know what the bible teaches us about it.  We can hear the testimonies of others that will build our own faith.  We can sit under anointed teachers who teach us about it.  But, for me, the real answer is in knowing Him, the Author and Finisher of our faith.  Without truly knowing Him in that intimate sense of Him being your everything, or being so connected to Him you don’t make a move without His peace, or building your intimacy with Him to the place where there is absolute trust that He has your back, you will struggle with believing He has your very best in His hands.  If we don’t know Him intimately we don’t trust Him with our whole beings.   That, to me, is true Kingdom living.

Coming in the next blog:  Does God Still Use Angels, really?

9 thoughts on “Musings of What I Learned in the Lion’s Den

  1. On Jan. 20, I sent you this private email, but want to share this with all your friends and you as a testimony to God’s amazing provision and promises even before it all came to pass!

    Jeremiah 31:8-9
    New Living Translation (NLT)

    8 For I will bring them from the north
    and from the distant corners of the earth.
    I will not forget the blind and lame,
    the expectant mothers and women in labor.
    A great company will return!
    9 Tears of joy will stream down their faces,
    and I will lead them home with great care.
    They will walk beside quiet streams
    and on smooth paths where they will not stumble.

    Mark 10:27-30
    27 Jesus looked at them intently and said,“Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But not with God. Everything is possible with God.”

    28 Then Peter began to speak up. “We’ve given up everything to follow you,” he said.

    29 “Yes,” Jesus replied,“and I assure you that everyone who has given up house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or property, for my sake and for the Good News,30 will receive now in return a hundred times as many houses, brothers, sisters, mothers, children, and property—along with persecution. And in the world to come that person will have eternal life.

    Like

  2. As I read this wonderful “Musings of What I learned in the Lion’s Den” I had an image of Joseph and Mary traveling to Bethlehem with a very pregnant Mary. Reading the part when you said that the day before the deadline, when you knew that if you had to leave the house you had no place to go. I for one marveled at your whole journey and knew full well that God would bring you through your year long endurance test with a mutitude of new belivers. Yes, Dixie and Greg you have been used by God to help others realize the full potential of Kingdom living. I so appreciate you both for letting go and letting God so that I could come to greater faith in my own journey. Your house is a Temple of the Lord and once again it will be filled with people who will come to feel God’s presence.

    Like

  3. Dixie & Greg,
    Your faith has carried us all through some difficult moments. My belief was that once we got into escrow, the work was done, yet, as we know, that was only the beginning. The true test began on February 14, and what a test is was! I still wait for God’s words on what exactly it was He wanted me to learn! In the end, His will was done and that’s really all that matters. Greg’s stand that was rooted in faith and the belief that God told him to stay put may have been mocked by some, but I admire him for standing up and refusing to budge.This was a journey for the record books and a great deal was learned, about ourselves, God, and others. At times we were very disappointed in the former and the latter but God remained faithful. He always does. In time, this journey will become a distant memory, and not without some chuckles, but the lessons learned will stay with us and you will find that you are stronger for having survived this. I know that God will richly bless you both for your faith and steadfastness. I look forward to seeing that!!!

    Like

    • Wow, dear Sandee, you have said it all….we eagerly await the next chapter of this story as well. We know there is more…you played the biggest part in it all with your tireless, constant, on the phone, dealing with the whole of it….The seeds you have sown into our ministry will only serve to multiply and reap your own blessings in abundance!!!

      Like

  4. I love your blogging Dixie,
    Upon reading it I remembered something that we walked through many years ago as well. I hope you don’t mind my sharing. It was way back when we lived in California still. In fact we lived in Guadalupe and Jerry was working all the way in Goleta. I woke up one morning after having a dream where God told me that Jerry was going to be getting a $4.00 an hour raise. Wow!!! awesome. I remember journaling it because I just knew it was a God dream or what I call a visitation from God to prepare me to walk in peace because something was coming, but I could not look at the natural.
    Within a few months of having that dream Jerry had been transferred to another facility (still in Goleta). He had a new boss and the man wasn’t very nice at all. In fact he pretty much terrorized him every night he worked. He would say Jerry hadn’t done things he had done and he just made working horrible. Well in Security work you absolutely NEVER abandon your post, but after weeks and weeks of having this Supervisor lie and try to make it appear that Jerry was not doing his job he had finally had it. He got really upset and gave up his keys and his badge to the guy. He came home that night a little concerned obviously because he had no idea how I would handle it. We had 2 children at the time and he was the only one employed.
    When I saw him come home I knew immediately that something was wrong. He told me what happened and I told him I didn’t blame him for doing it that God would work it out and I was not the least bit worried. It seemed odd that it happened the way that it did. I mean in the real world who abandon’s their post and gives up their badge and gets a $4.00 dollar an hour raise? lol… That same week my sweet husband hit the pavement looking for work so he could provide for his family. He called me up and said he had been hired at another Security company and would be starting right away. It was $2.00 less an hour than what he’d been making at the previous job, but he felt he had to take it. I was still at peace.
    That same day he walked into our house and he had his new Security clothing in his hands from the new company. I knew that my dream was in question a little in both our minds, but nothing was ever voiced. I knew God had said it so I simply couldn’t look at the natural. He barely closed the door and the phone began to ring. I could not get it because I had my hands in the sink and so he put the clothes down and picked it up.
    I could say we were shocked, but that simply wasn’t true. We knew it was coming we just didn’t know how or when. God was faithful even when we didn’t do everything right ourselves. He took that whole situation and turned it around for our good.
    The man on the phone was his previous boss (not the Supervisor who was awful to Jerry, but the big head cheese). He apologized to Jerry because he had somehow heard what happened and said; “how would you like to work across the street in an office, have a day shift rather than a night shift, get to wear a suit rather than a Security outfit and we will pay you $$$$$$ an hour. He immediately said; Well I just took another job, but most definitely I want it. When he got off the phone we stared at each other for a minute and then realized that he was now going to be getting $4.00 dollars an hour more than he was making before he quit.
    Another side of this is something I call ‘the little tables’. I have written an article that is posted on our site about this. God says He sets a table for you before your enemies doesn’t He? Jerry worked right across the street and low and behold he frequently began to go to lunch at a place that made Asian food. One day (and on several occassions later) the awful supervisor came in and saw Jerry eating. He never said a word to him, but you just have to know that he must have been pretty bugged to see that the guy that he was trying to hurt within the company was now making even more than him and working in a suit and tie.
    I love it,
    Sheryl L. York

    Like

    • Wow…Sheryl…thanks for sharing….I am endeavoring in this post to share true Kingdom living in the exciting realm of the Holy Spirits involvement in all the details in our lives that will enable others to see how He works. He cares about every tiny detail and if we are listening and trust He will reveal himself in powerful ways….Thank God for your faithfulness and in His provision!!! ♥♥

      Like

Leave a Reply

