Jesus Laughs

How do you see Jesus?  Can you address Him as your closest friend?  Religiosity cleverly separates us from Jesus.  Sometimes we have referred to Him as the “the Good Lord”, which is true, but sounds kind of pious.  It sounds sweet, spongy, and void of personality and very white robe and sandals. Did Jesus ever use that term?   I wonder what would happen in my marriage if I addressed my husband as the “Good sir”?  How would the dynamics of my relationships change if I addressed my closest friends as Ms. Ray, or Ms. Smith?  We clearly get separated from Him as a real person when we address Him religiously and piously.

My point is what kind of fruit and it’s effects does this produce in your relationship with Him.  Stained glass language reflects a view of what Jesus is like and shapes our perceptions of Him and our experiences with Him.

Ask yourself when you are addressing Him if it reflects His true personality.  He is a real person!  Do you see Him as playful with His disciples camping out by the sea shore?  Or infuriating the Pharisees by refusing to observe their ridiculous rules?  How about the fun Jesus who made water into the best of wines for the simple reason to celebrate a wedding party with His friends?  He and I have shared so many laughs together.  Did you know He has a sense of humor?

I have learned to love on Him all day long.  It has been an amazing journey.  The more time we spend with Him in all His glorious reality the more we see His true self.  He was fun, had a sense of humor, loved people, he wept, got angry,  he laughed, loved on babies and lifted them over His head in joy….can you see it?

In my times when I am tempted to worry or fret or become obsessed with something in my mind, I have learned to tell Him I love Him over and over.  I can’t tell you how much this has changed my thought life.  In everything I do each day I just keep saying: “I love you Jesus” over and over.  The other night a profound thing happened.  I had just climbed into bed and was telling Jesus over and over how much I loved Him.  Then I heard Him.  I really heard Him say, “Dixie, I love you, too.”   It took me a minute to realize He was talking, I was so wound up in saying it to Him…He responded and I heard Him!!!   Truth be told, if we are listening,  He is saying it to us all the time, in absolute, unreligious simplicity.  He loves me!  He loves you!!

A profound thing happened a few days ago.  I was thinking of my grandpa who died a few years ago.  He was a preacher and I remembered as a little girl watching him get so excited about Jesus he would literally dance a jig, enraptured, as he would listen to a song that got him going.  I suddenly found myself caught up in a vision, best I can tell.  I was somewhere in Heaven, and there was grandpa dancing away as the angels sang some upbeat tune of praise.  Suddenly Jesus approached grandpa, hoisted up His shimmering robe above His knees, and threw back His head laughing out loud, and danced right along with grandpa.   This is the Jesus I know.   Oh, how I love Him.

“For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but ryou received the Spirit of sonship.  And by him we cry ‘Abba, Father’…because you are sons, (daughters), God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the spirit who calls out, ‘Abba, Father’”…Rom. 8:15: Gal. 4:6)

4 thoughts on “Jesus Laughs

  1. I truly believe that Jesus has a sense of humor. I’m sure he has laughed at me more than I care to admit. And some days I laugh with him. I take myself way to serious and he likes to throw things at me that help me realize it is time to slow down and enjoy. Live, laugh, and Love.

    Like

    • I love that Shannon!!! I can see Him smiling at your phrase, “he likes to throw things at me that help me realize it is time to slow down”………it’s all about freedom, isn’t it?

      Like

      • It is. I hold the key to my own happiness. I have to remind myself daily. I choose to be sad about circumstances or chuckle and know that there is a reason.

        Like

  2. I so agree!!! We learn to not wait on others to make us happy….too much responsibility….Only Jesus can be all that we need…and he accompanies us to the florist to buy ourselves flowers rather than wait on someone else to do it. It is a choice, but sometimes a hard one. Bless you Shannon. ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

