A Ballerina for the King

I have never been known for my grace and poise when it comes to walking.  It seems I have always been a little off balance and clumsy.   My awkward displays have made for a lot of laughs and giggling among our family at many of our gatherings.  One such incident was many years ago when my family and I went to a restaurant after a church meeting.   I had on sling back floppy 4 inch heels that day.   While walking into the restaurant we walked in front of a row of windows with customers eating on the other side.  I took a step at the same time as my husband and the heel of my shoe got caught in the hem of his pants.   It jerked my feet out from under me.  I went flying and landed right on my nose and knees at the feet of my teenagers, my purse flying into the parking lot.  My kids looked at me with utter shock and disgust and embarrassment that I would do such a thing to them.  My husband could not contain his mirth as he retrieved my purse and helped me up.  I had huge holes in my nylons and a very red nose.  I glanced at the customers through my hair hanging in my face, and there they were watching the whole show with barely contained smirks on their faces.  I held my head up and marched into the restaurant as if I was the Queen of England.

 A month later I had to go back to the same restaurant for a meeting.  I hoped the waitresses had forgotten me.  I was driving a huge van that was just a monster of a thing.  I went into the restaurant okay, but when I came out and went to get into the van, my foot slipped on the running board trying to climb up.  You guessed it.   I fell out onto the parking lot and landed fully on my back, spread eagle.  I prayed I would pass out, but instead I got up quickly, and proceeded to turn around to face the same windows with customers; only this time the waitresses had lined up as well for the show.   I bowed gracefully like a ballerina and got back into the van.  To say I was horrified is an understatement.

This morning I was walking and talking with Jesus.  I was praying about various struggles in my life and my kid’s lives.  He told me that we are in a war.  Not a war against people, but a war against evil.  He began to show me that my weapons are not worldly but spiritual.  My weapons are mighty before God for the pulling down of satan’s strongholds.  Jesus said He has already freed me from evil but satan will continue to battle me as long as he thinks he has a foothold in the doors of my life; as long as I am dangerous to the kingdom of God evil will try to defeat me.   But I am getting stronger by the day and my weapons are not worldly, but mighty before God.  What are those weapons;   Intimacy with Jesus, talking to Him and surrendering to him the control of my life, the word of God and praying in the spirit, and faith in Him in knowing that He has already defeated satan.   It is bringing all my thoughts captive to what my King says about me and not entertaining doubt and unbelief.  The key to this battle is the very first thing I mentioned and that is intimacy with Jesus.  He has my back.  Oh, that I could see into that invisible world of the spirit. 

Then Elisha prayed, “O LORD, open his eyes and let him see!” The LORD opened the young man’s eyes, and when he looked up, he saw that the hillside around Elisha was filled with horses and chariots of fire.  2Kings 6:17

The same way I have fallen flat on my face (more stories to come) on many occasions in my everyday life, I have fallen flat on my face in my walk with Him.  I think I am so spiritual one minute and then out of the blue I go flying into space and stumble into doubt, fear, and unbelief.  But did I just lay there that day I fell in front of the restaurant, (Okay,  both days I fell in front of the restaurant) and pray an ambulance would come and get me? Well maybe it crossed my mind a few times.  No, I got up and believed I had dignity and continued on as if nothing happened.  I refuse to give satan any place in my life. He may think he can cause me to stumble and because I am human I will on occasion.  But I will get right back up and get right back into the presence of Jesus and be a victor!!

For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places and we use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments… no weapon that is formed against you shall prosper, and every tongue that shall rise against you in judgment you shall show to be in the wrong. This [peace, righteousness, security, triumph over opposition] is the heritage of the servants of the Lord ….2Cor. 10:4 NLT, Isa. 54:17AMP, Eph. 6:12 NLT 

 

12 thoughts on “A Ballerina for the King

  1. Dixie, I could not contain my mirth the first time you told me this story. I would think about it in the middle of the night and laugh out loud…not at your embarrassment, but at the way you told it and the picture you communicated. The word says that even a righteous man falls seven times and gets back up (seven, like 70X7…doesn’t matter how many literal times). If we didn’t fall, James would not tell us to build perseverance into our repertoire. Great post Dixie.

    Like

    • It is funny to me every time I tell it…sad thing is that I have many more stories like this one now….we will get a medal in heaven for the amount of time we get back up literally and spiritually….Thanks, Linda!!

      Like

  2. I can do relate! I too fall a lot and appear clumsy. My ankles probate inward throwing my balance off but I have learned ringing ears can cause it also. In my family it has made for good laughs as long as I can remember!

    I too, as all of us do, fall down but will always by the grace of God spring back up! Like its said, it’s not how hard you fall but how far you bounce! Thank you for sharing! I truly love reading your posts. We seem to share much!

    Like

  3. Oh my, if I was there and you fell I would jump up and help you up and you could still walk away like the Queen of England. I fell through glass 2x it was bizarre.

    Like

  4. Loved the stories, I can picture you getting back up and acting like nothing happened, love it! By the way, you are one of His Queens! And even when it doesn’t feel like it, He loves it when we act like it anyway.

    Like

  5. I was really inspired reading your posts, Dixie. I am a member of WP but had trouble signing in so I could Like the post(s). You have an amazing talent for writing. I pray for your continued and even greater success in building up the people of God through Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

