Your House Smells Like Peace

Black clouds were pouring into a windy and brisk October sky with all the threat of impending rain this morning.  I love the Fall-ish feel in anticipation of letting go of summer, finally, and allowing myself to venture into this new season without fighting it like I usually do.   I had just sent my husband off on an important trip; his annual hunting expedition with our son, his father in law and our grandson.  I have 4 whole days to myself.  Just me and Jesus and I love it!!    I couldn’t wait to connect with Him as I planted myself in my usual spot, a little nook by the dining room window with part of my flower garden in view. 

“Dixie, come away with me for a while—I so long to be with you,” He whispered.

I was feeling the presence of Jesus immensely and realized that He had been anticipating meeting with me as much as I was Him!  What a unique concept.  He is always waiting and willing to sit with me and share together whenever we, or, more accurately, I can find the time.  My first thought and I am pretty sure I actually said it to him was, “Why on earth do I wait so long to meet with You, Lord, when you are always here waiting?  The God of the universe is waiting for me to talk to Him and commune with Him and I keep Him waiting?”    How insanely presumptuous of me!  I know I walk in His presence.  But I do find other things I must do when it is time to sit down and have a serious talk– when I know He is there…well, now, that is just wrong!  He created me for reflection with Him.  How could I put that off? 

“Everyone who is called by my name….I created for my glory.”  Is 43:7 NIV

As I sat down, I immediately felt the tears begin to gather as His sheer presence surrounded me in effervescent billows of His glory.  I literally felt His tangible presence and the only way I know how to describe it is that it was a blanket of pure love and longing.  In the spirit I could see desire in His eyes reaching out to me.   I began to write my heart out to Him…this is always a great way to communicate all you are feeling and wanting to talk about with Him because it slows you down and your spirit gets more in tune with His voice .  Immediately He began to talk and I continued to write.  His words are peaceful, giving, alive, like water on a dry, parched land, and so personal.

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Rev. 3:20 NIV

A couple of weeks ago my granddaughter was arriving at our home very early in the morning to join us for a trip to Disneyland for her birthday.  She came in with eyes half closed, in pajamas, and sleepy.  As she entered the front door she abruptly stopped and just stood there breathing in deeply as if savoring the moment.  She looked at me and said, “Nana, your house smells like peace.”    I was so taken back by the comment because at the moment I didn’t feel really spiritual but tired and a little cranky.  I had been told that before by various people we have had into our home.  People seem to want to linger here.   

Because of Christ, we give off a sweet scent rising to God, which is recognized by those on the way of salvation—an aroma redolent with life.  2 Cor. 2:15 MSG.

Believe me, I know it isn’t me.   They sense His presence here.  People are always drawn to Jesus.  When you sense His presence you just want to stay right there and not move.  It is not the house.  It is not me or Greg.  It is the fact that this home was dedicated to Him from its inception and we invited Him to dwell here.  We live normally but invite Him into everything we do.  I am not religious.   I am a fun loving woman who likes to live life to the fullest.  There are no restrictions on you in my world to act “spiritual”.   You are holy because He is holy and in Him we live and move and have our being.  He is at your house too.  Invite Him to converse with you.

This is Kingdom living.  We can be held captive by anything that hinders His spirit from flowing freely in our lives and not even realize it.  We then find that in theory we do believe that we are created for His glory, but in reality, it is mostly just a theory.  If you’ve been hindered in your desire to really know Him you might ask Him what has held you back.  Where does the stronghold lie?  Let’s get free!!   It is available for all of us.  He is blessed by our faith in simply believing that He is really there just like He says He is and He is not a man that He should lie.

For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image. 2 Cor 3:17-18 NLT

13 thoughts on “Your House Smells Like Peace

  1. Dixie, this post was awesome and really spoke to my heart. Earlier today I was in a physical therapy class and I was in pain. I felt tears spring to my eyes and I had to try not to cry. I suddenly realized it was not from pain, but from longing. I pictured myself back at my home, pouring my heart out to Jesus. My husband is on a hunting trip this weekend too. I have at least two days to myself, and I plan on using mind just as you used yours. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Linda, I pray as you meet with Him your very being is infused with his peace and you are blanketed in His love as never before. I know you and Him are tight!!! It is so awesome to know that His longing for you is even stronger!! ♥♥

    Like

  3. Great reflections and recognizing relational dialogue with our Daddy. So often I think, our conversation are but monologs; we do all the talking. At times He has said to me, “Would you just be silent for a moment so I can talk and answer your questions.” Oh, an welcome to Bogging For God group.

    Like

  4. Thanks Dixie, I love the expression of your granddaughter: “a house that smells of peace!” So sweet and so desirable. I am infused with His peace late this evening as all is quiet; so thankful God led me to read your blog. Time for me to write again as I have been silent. Keep on writing as we are blessed as we get to read about your walk with God. So good to trust in Jesus!

    Like

  5. So true!!! and So good!!! I am glad you, as my mentor, can be ministered to by my writings. Yes, time for you to start writing too….it slows us down to focus on just Him…love you Carol!!

    Like

  6. I loved this. thank you for letting us in on your quiet time. I am so thankful when tears stream down my face because of the love that God lavishes upon his children. The heart so full of thanks that can’t be described in any words, just tears. My teenage daughter has come in my room sniffing the air. She said it smelled like God. I used to do my quiet Bible study time in there. I’m glad she smelled it (i didn’t). I am so glad God chooses to reveal himself in “the air” and everywhere!

    Like

  7. Dixie, I loved your description of your time with God. When I come to Him in the morning or stop in the middle of the day to be with Him, it’s that kind of relaxing feeling. You captured it so well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

