After Being Wounded in Battle– Four Steps to Applying His Salve of Healing

Being falsely accused of something that you know is simply not true is so hard to endure, isn’t it?  We want to convince our accusers we are not the people they are saying we are.  We want to defend ourselves.  We want to be validated by those that love us to offset the ugly words thrown at us.

 After being unjustly blamed of something that I am not even capable of doing , I was blindsided by an open attack on my character.  While still trying to decide if I should try to defend myself I began realizing that I didn’t have to.  Jesus is my defense.   Sometimes when we speak truth into a situation, those who enjoy control don’t want to hear it.  I am a truthful person and I am confrontive if I know I need to be.   It has a lot to do with how we do it, I suppose.  But sometimes, even if we do it in the kindest of ways, it just doesn’t matter if the person has set their heart against you.  And controlling  people want to stay in their delusions.   A few weeks back I wrote an article about toxic people.  Then I was tested on what I wrote.  Sometimes it is revealed all at one moment those you can trust and those you can’t.   It leaves you reeling in shock.  This recent attack on my character came out of nowhere.  

“But in that coming day no weapon turned against you will succeed. You will silence every voice raised up to accuse you. These benefits are enjoyed by the servants of the LORD; their vindication will come from me. I, the LORD, have spoken”!  Is. 54:17

 This is what I have realized.  Many people live in a world of smoke and mirrors and prefer to stay there.  Not everyone wants our help in uncovering truth in their lives.  I was asked a simple question and I gave an answer that was more truthful than the person wanted to hear and wrath was unleashed into accusations, multiple ugly emails, and slander.   The hard part was that it was in an instant and thus such a shock.  I thought this person was a friend. 

 When Jesus was accused so many times He answered them not a word.  I need to do the same.  If someone is set against you, whatever you say to them will be turned around anyway.  What is walking in the love of God with them?  I see four steps to walk out of the toxicity and to following Jesus in this area.

1.      Remain kind and always forgive.  Remember forgiving does not mean that what they have done is okay.  It means you release them to God and you aren’t held captive by your grudge or hurt against them.  

 2.      Don’t defend yourself.  Pray for reconciliation but trust that He knows what is best for you. 

 3.      Examine your own heart to make sure you have been upright and not self serving.

 4.      Let Jesus soothe those hurt feelings and realize He was treated the same way when He so didn’t deserve it.    

 Walking in God’s kind of love is not enabling people to continue to be unkind to you and it is not putting up with their attacks.  It is walking away, forgiving and giving them to God.  They have violated your trust.  Trust has to be earned.

 “Not only that—count yourselves blessed every time people put you down or throw you out or speak lies about you to discredit me. What it means is that the truth is too close for comfort and they are uncomfortable. You can be glad when that happens—give a cheer, even!—for though they don’t like it, I do! And all heaven applauds. And know that you are in good company. My prophets and witnesses have always gotten into this kind of trouble. Matt. 5

11 thoughts on “After Being Wounded in Battle– Four Steps to Applying His Salve of Healing

  1. Dixie,

    As my spiritual gift is prophecy, I too am truthful and will confront when God is speaking to me about that person and when you say, “not everyone wants our help in uncovering the truth in their lives.” that is what I have to get over and understand. Sometimes, I feel God pushing me to speak truth to someone like that and I fight, hard due to fear of rejection, worry that they’ll laugh, or I won’t say it just right. God is teaching me I am not responsible for their reaction, just my obedience. So however long I fight with His prompting, I don’t win because God keeps gently nudging me forward like a child who doesn’t want to go to their first day of Kindergarten and I can’t help but to obey Him. He loves me and I must realize that even if it’s going to hurt, I must be obedient because as you also so perfectly said in the title of this, He has the “salve of healing” and I just have to stand still and let him apply it.

    I can relate to some degree with you on the situation where you were asked a simple question and you answered which set off a firestorm from someone you thought was a friend. About 12 years ago a very close friend of mine (for almost 30 years) asked me a question and I truthfully answered, which was normal for us to do with one another and she hasn’t spoken to me since then. Her daughter, whom the question referred to said, “she didn’t really want to hear the truth…” . So the enemy keeps leading me to the question of “Do we filter the truth even with friends if we aren’t sure how they will take it?’ But God (I love those two words, don’t you?) says to me, “No Pam. You say what my Spirit has put on your heart with love; without malice, with none of your carnal self added in and I will take care of you and the other person. That gives me some peace, but I still don’t always stand still and let Him put that salve on right away because I am so burned and it hurts!. I have continued my relationship with her daughter but still don’t understand what I said wrong to my “friend”.

    Fortunately, I don’t have to understand, only obey. My prayers are with you Sister as you allow that salve of healing be placed on those burned places that hurt so badly and seem like they may never heal. Blessings!

    Pam Hyers

    Like

    • Pam…this really touches my heart. Yes, I have a prophetic gift as well and it has gotten me into so many ‘firestorms’ as you so aptly put it. I can tell you really relate to my story and that you have been there and still are.. I love the way you put it when you say, do we filter the truth when we are not sure how our friends will take it. I always figure if they ask the question that they are ready for a truthful answer….not always the case!! I am sorry about your friend. I have a couple of those…one of them I don’t have a clue what I even said…totally cut me off for good and refuses to tell me….I finally had to give up and give her to God and realize He moved her out of my life. He does that. When we have given our lives to Him sometimes he reveals the toxic ones. Love is always our grounding force in how we administer the truth…thank you so much!!

      Like

  2. Oh Dixie, Satan just loves to stir the pot of wonderful Christians like you. But, he sure does know who to use to do that doesn’t he? Because you are so strong in God’s armor, Satan just can’t seem to let you rest in that peace. I know that as Christians we are to be tested time and time again, but my heart just breaks when I hear about the challenges you have gone through and will continue to go through the more others see your wonderful work. Yes, friends! Or people you think are friends will disappoint us, but God’s pruning is so important. Like Jesus who was utterly not believed by his town, friends, and family. I care about you so much Dixie and just want you to know that your “real” friends will always present to support you and see the truth through Jesus’ eyes. Every time I read one of your blogs I pray that I could some day be that mature in my faith. Thank you for always sharing your journey with us no matter how painful it might be. We learn and grow from listening to other Christians who are walking the walk Dixie. Take care and know that you are loved. Linda

    Like

    • Linda, you are such an encourager!!! I share because I know others can relate and learn from my experiences….knowing I am just like everyone else. We are in a battle and you are so right about that…and the more we see lives changed because of our own testimonies the more the enemy fights to keep our mouths shut…..but, we win, don’t we…for we are more than conquerors through Him who fights the fight for us….we will stand still and see the salvation of the Lord!!!!! Love you

      Like

  3. Just a comment (not a criticism but a thought) on STEP 4: “Trust has to be earned”. God is still dealing with me on this step. I’ve always said this about others, “They will have my trust when they earn it.” The Holy Spirit point out to me some verses to meditate on:”Be subject to one another”, not because they’ve earned your trust but “out of the reverence of Christ ” (Eph.5:21). “Wives, be subject (submissive) to your own husbands”, not because they have earned your trust but…(Eph. 5:22); “Servants, be obedient to those who are your physical masters” because they have earned your trust, but “as a service to Christ” (Eph. 6:5). Great point in STEP 1–on forgiveness. That’s why the word FOR-GIVE-NESS is used and not FOR-SALE-NESS in it’s place. “If you apologized to me first, then I will forgive you.” And you are right–when we feel that way, we remain in captivity. GOOD JOB Dixie in your explanations.

    Like

  4. Hi word detective……good points!! Yes, there is obedience to the Word, which is an act of our will….we can move in those things you mention in obedience and by faith, of course. But if, say, the workplace believer, for example, is being mistreated or cheated in their pay, they would still have to remain obedient if they want to keep their job. But there would be no trust for them in who they are working for. You can be obedient but without trust. There is forgiveness, then reconciliation if the other party wants to restore the relationship, and then trust that comes with time. Obedience and trust are two different things…..thank you so much for commenting and sharing!!!

    Like

  5. Hi Dixie, sorry you have had to go through this but like most things these events are designed to refine and transform us. The focus is on how we react and respond not on whether the other person is right or wrong, God deals with them in His own way. But you are absolutely right that accusations can be painful, maybe it’s not as clearly black and white as we would like it to be, maybe there is something we can learn about ourselves in the situation which can help us in the future. One thing I have learnt and I am still learning is that the other person also has their own side to the story and their side can be just as valid as our own, but as you say love and reconciliation should be the first step.

    Like

    • Hello Sweet Vessel. You are so right. There is always plenty to learn from the experience of being falsely accused with no recourse. Jesus says to rejoice when we are persecuted. It strengthens us and enables us to know that He knows our true heart and yes, the other person does certainly have their reasonings and are in need of healing as well. He is constantly perfecting us even in our persecutions!!! Blessings to you!!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Favourite blog posts from the week (21/10/12) | I am a Vessel of God

Leave a Reply

