The Next Best Thing

dixiebookMy blog this week is going to be different but I think you might find it fun.    I was invited by Jeannie Pallett to be a part of a blog hop called The Next Best Thing.    This is all new to me and I am always ready for a new adventure so join with me and let’s make this work.  I am learning to let myself be challenged if I feel anxious about starting out on new things…especially into areas that challenge my computer expertise.

The purpose behind this activity is to introduce readers to the next great book or upcoming authors, and find the ones they never heard of before, but find themselves fascinated with their stories and can’t put their writings down.  It is a great way to get word out of what is available from new authors.

So, the gift for you in this adventure is a wealth of new and exciting authors that the world has yet to meet!!   And some have blogs but are still developing their books and if you like their blog they will already have a fan in you.

I would like to thank Jeannie Pallett for inviting me on this blog tour and the opportunity to get my blog and book seen as well.

Check out Jeannie’s book,

Beckoned by the King, and her blog: http://psalm119greaterthangold.net/

Jeannie has a lot to say about the love affair with Jesus that we all long for.  She indeed walks with God!  Hop on over and check out her book and her blog today!!  Be sure and comment on her page to let her know you found her through this blog.

The interesting part of this blog hop is getting to meet the authors who have different styles and audiences.    How fun to get to be a part of helping others to get their writings seen by the public and maybe they will be THE NEXT BIG THING!!!

I get to answer 10 questions and you get to learn about my just published book and how it all came about.  So, here goes!

marketing photo1

 

What is the working title of your book?  

Climbing Out of the Box, My journey out of sexual and spiritual abuse into freedom and healing.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Well, I know this will sound strange to some, but while praying with a client, (I am a life coach), she said she saw me with 4 doors behind me;  two were shut and one was fully opened and one partially open.   That week while praying I asked the Lord just what the four doors were about.  As clear as if He were physically present, he said, “I want you to write a book.  I want you to call it “Climbing Out of the Box” and I want it to be of your life.”  Not having a clue what would be involved or what to do next in writing a book I simply started writing.

 What genre does your book fall under?

My book is a memoir.   I know there are so many people out there that have been touched by either sexual or spiritual abuse or, as in my case, by both.  I don’t want it to be limited to only Christians, though it is a believer’s theme.  I can’t deny who I am.   However, I pray that it reaches those who are searching for a real and living God that loves them  more than they can imagine—even through their most trying times.

 Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I laughed at this question because my daughter and I were goofing around the other day and we were figuring out who we would want to play ourselves if this book gets made into a movie.   I decided Meryl Streep should play me, and Heather decided she wanted Kate Hudson to play her.  Matt Damon could play my son, Jason.  Greg, who sometimes acts as if he is a gangster, could be played by Robert De Niro.  Savanna wants to play herself since she is a future actress and for Katie we decided Emma Stone should play her.  Zac Efron would play Christopher.  Nia Vardalos could play Christina.  Believe it or not, I have witnessed God do things in my life that I never imagined would actually happen, so, with that in mind,  I have pictured my story on Life Time Women’s Network.   But I know if the actors I mentioned were in my movie we would hit the big screen. (I’m smiling now.)   I have learned to dream big.    But then I still struggle with the thought, “Who would really want to hear about my life.”  However, since my book has hit the market I am finding out there are many whom my story can touch.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?  

Climbing Out of the Box is a totally honest, deeply-feltmemoir written by a courageous woman who has not only survived, but triumphed over, childhood sexual abuse, a dysfunctional family, loss of identity, rejection, self-denial, divorce, and spiritual abuse.

Will your book be self publish or will you go through an agency?  

 I have already self published through Amazon, Create Space.  It was released on November 27, 2012.  Go to Amazon and check it out!!  If you read it and like it please leave a review.

How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript? 

 It took me about 8 months to write my story.

What other books in your genre would you compare this story too?

  Not sure, because, really, we all have different stories.  Memoirs especially are incomparable to each other as we are all so unique in God’s eyes.  There are no two of us alike.   There are a ton of books out there on sexual abuse.  My book reveals how sexual abuse set up the stage for me to gravitate toward circles of Christianity that had very controlling people in it.  And then I became addicted to ministry to validate my poor self esteem.  My daughter was molested by the same perpetrator that molested me because of my silence.  This shattered my world and woke me up to denial and creating masks that I had convinced myself were reality.

What or who inspired you to write this book? 

  Jesus, who has called me into the market place to be transparent so that others may be free.  My mission is “Changing Lives, One Life at a Time.”  Also, being a certified life coach I have witnessed how telling my story has changed the lives of others who thought they were so alone and couldn’t trust anyone.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  

 My book shows readers how God can use even the most painful and horrific areas of our lives to direct us to finding our true purpose in Kingdom living in today’s troubled world.  The book will also point you to true relationship with a living Christ outside of mere religious practices and organizations.

I invite you to comment on this blog and share with your friends if you feel so inspired!!  Blessings and thanks for reading!

Next week take the opportunity to hop on over to the blog of a much loved friend of mine, Linda Lochridge.  She will be continuing this blog hop.

picture of Linda

 

 

http://lindalochridge.com/2012/12/14/in-the-well-with-tolstoy/

 Linda is a psychotherapist who is also writing a memoir.  She is still in the blogging stage but I guarantee that when you read her posts you will see that it is a book in the making.  

4 thoughts on “The Next Best Thing

  1. Dixie, I’ve read most of the excerpts you’ve sent me from the book. Your experience really shows that we don’t have to remain victims. Except for ‘time and unforeseen occurrence’, our choices, coupled with Jehovah’s undeserved kindness, determine our future. It’s obvious you’ve worked hard not just to describe your experience, but to offer assistance to those who have had a similar experience. I wish you well in your endeavor. With affection, Harry

    Like

    • Thanks Harry!!! So true…what we do with our past is a choice, and with His grace, love, and kindness He meets us right where we are. How cool that you are reading my stuff!! Love you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

