I Can Only Imagine

 

545570_417758148257124_357419294_n (1)Remember that popular song written in 2005 by Bart Millard entitled, “I Can Only Imagine”?  It is about meeting Jesus face to face.   Here are some of the lyrics.

I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By Your side


I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When Your face
Is before me


Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for You Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all


I can only imagine
When that day comes
And I find myself
Standing in the sun

 

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You


I can only imagine
I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever,
forever worship you
I can only imagine

 

I don’t know one person who has heard this song who doesn’t get caught up in the words and melody and in their own imaginings of what it will be like on that day when they finally see Him face to face.

Yet, I have coached so many who fear the day they will die.   In probing further it is usually more of a fear of what they will experience in the dying process and they lose sight of the fact that we all have an appointment with God to leave this life for the one we were actually created for.  We are just passing through my friend.   Every single one of us will go someplace when we die.  Do you have the assurance that it will be heaven? 

If not, contact me through this blog and I will help you to be sure.

We mourn our loss when a loved one goes home to eternity, of course.  They leave a deep, hole in our lives that is oh so painful.  But if they knew Jesus how could we even want them to come back?  Seriously? 

Would they want to come back?  I think not. 

Not if they knew Him!

We are eternal beings, created to be with our maker, with a brief stint here on earth.   We have a destination there is no doubt in my mind about that.   Have we become so in tune with this earthly life, as hard as it is sometimes, that we have lost sight of how brief of a stay we have here in comparison to eternity?   We are here for a purpose.  He has a plan for our lives while we are here.  

We have a destination.  

Our lives are meant to make a difference to all those He puts along the path of our journey through this life on earth.   We live in a world with evil and destruction abounding, which is all the more reason our eyes need to remain on Him and His purpose for us here on this earth.  He has provided for us Kingdom living.  On earth it takes faith to live in this Kingdom.  In heaven we will see it all so clearly, including the King Himself.

 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely. 1 Cor. 12 NLT

We are in His service, friends!!   We are citizens of a another land.

I have never gone to a funeral of a believer that I don’t close my eyes and try to visualize where they are right then.  Can they see the people who are at their memorial?  Or are they so caught up in their new world that they just don’t have time or desire to see what is going on back on earth?    Are they walking with Jesus at that very moment?   Are they reuniting with people and loved ones from years past? 

 Are they talking with Mary or Martha or Mary, Jesus’ mom?  

How about Esther? Or Bathsheba?

Or Moses, Noah, or Paul?  

It blows my mind to think of the possibilities of what could be happening with them at the very hour we are down here mourning their loss.  I have to smile in the midst of my tears.

This is not to diminish the deep grief we feel at the loss of someone we treasure.  The pain is so real and our losses are so great at these times.  But, I wonder, if we really allowed ourselves to focus on where they went and the glorious possibilities of it all, if it would make our pain a little lighter.

I have been at bed sides of those who are dying.  At the passing of one saint right in front of me I actually looked up to the ceiling knowing they had departed,  and one time I even waved, as they took their last breath.  I envied their adventure that had just begun.

But we are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives. And we are eagerly waiting for him to return as our Savior.  He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control. Phil 3 NLT

When I depart please don’t look at this vessel I lived in for all the years I was on earth.  I am not there.   If you must, celebrate my life here if I made a difference in your life somehow.  But know you will see me again when it comes your time to enter eternity.  Meanwhile just imagine all the wonderful things I am doing as I continue to learn and grow with Jesus!!

I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, God’s home is now among his people! He will live with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them. He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.” Revelation 21:3NLT

15 thoughts on “I Can Only Imagine

  1. This is such a great message of hope, Dixie! John 3:16 is so descriptive of Jesus’ love for each of us who believe in Him. This is a reality we shall face, each one of us, rich or poor, small or great. Thank you for reaching out with this ‘question of questions’! Love, Greg

    Like

  2. Dixie…you know this tugged at my heart strings. I love having thoughts, visions and dreams about the things of God. I loved this blog probably because it confirms within me all that I believe about eternity and what we can expect to see. In my Father’s house are many mansions and Jesus had gone to prepare this place for us. Our spirits rejoice at the departure of a believer, but the grieving is difficult. Excellent, just excellent.

    Like

  3. This is my FAVORITE message to date. Thanks Dixie – I spend lots of time imagining and it brings me great joy and that wonderful feeling of “well being” that we’ve talked about before.

    Like

  4. I loved your post, Dixie, thank you. I am so thankful for the gift of hope 🙂 I think it makes me even more aware of my heart’s desire to see my family take that step of faith. I am looking forward to the day where I will be running and leaping, free from this earthly body. Where there are no more tears or pain – only joy.

    Blessings.

    Like

  5. I loved this Dixie and your story gave me cleansing tears! For me it is not that I wanted my parents to stay it is because they couldn’t take me with them, even though I begged Jesus for an early invitation….The invitation still hasn’t come. I needed to hear their voices just one more time… When my dad was @ UCLA med center his last words to me was a question while he was being wheeled in for his 3rd surgery “Will I still be buried by mom?” Jesus gave me strength to answer him without choking on my fear. Two weeks ago in some old picture files was a video of my mom and my dad, my dad was taking it. Both of them spoke in it and hearing the video gave me so much joy in my heart. The moral of my story is: I asked with no expectation and Jesus delivered “Again”…… p.s. I truly believe their souls are watching us and their happiness in being with Jesus overflows to us..sometimes in our giggling in the middle of the funeral services. ❤

    Like

    • According to Hebrews CeCe we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses, so, yes I believe they can see us and witness what God is doing in our lives and anticipate the day we ‘come home’…..never thought of it but you have a point on the giggling at a funeral…thanks for sharing!!

      Like

  6. Hi Dixie. So timely a message. Mother passed away on Father’s day and I know she’s in Heaven. No way would she want to come back here. Yes, let’s celebrate the lives of those who impacted us for good. Its also a reminder to live our lives so that others will want what we had in this life, but its “God that is at work within US to will and do His good pleasure. Thanks for sharing! -m

    Like

  7. Dixie, our hope is truly in Christ and not things of this world. I agree with you that what people are afraid of is the dying process. As we grow in our trust and faith in God, I believe we learn to rest in Him and know that wherever we go, He is with us. Thank you for a beautiful post. And, after reading your short bio, I give praise to our Father for all He has done in your precious life. Shine on, Sweet Light.

    Like

Leave a Reply

