As We Prayed….Someone Knocked On Our Door

10363854_377819679023936_7543693983379870990_nThen the devil departed from Him, and behold, angels  came and ministered to Him.  Matt. 4:10

As my children grew into teenagers nothing prepared me  for the sudden lack of control a parent feels when our kids  start separating from us to  find their own way in the  world. 

Talking to Jesus about them got me through and I know  their angels were busy.  They were normal kids and got  into their share of mischief as they moved into  independence. 

Since they are adults now, I hear stories about their exploits as teens that are new to me and for that I say  thank you God for protecting them even when I didn’t have  a clue.

Our simple trust is that He is there and those assigned angels are busy every step they take.  I prayed many times for God to protect them in the foolishness of youth, and to allow them to learn from their mistakes, but to also keep them from being harmed along the way. 

One evening my son Jason had gone to a drive in movie with a group of teens.  Again, as in the story of Greg and the plane incident a couple of blogs back, I was woken up around midnight and had this urgency to get up and pray for him. 

The only words that I could get out was Psalm 91:3 that says “He will keep us from the snare of the enemy”.  I prayed, “Lord, keep Jason from being caught in a hidden trap or danger, and deliver him from the snare of the enemy.”  I prayed this over and over until he arrived home.  

warrior angel 2With a look of shock on his face when he saw me, he  wanted to know why I was up.  I explained that I  couldn’t sleep because God had woke me up and  told me to pray for him.  He had a very strange look  on his face as he disappeared into his room. 

The next morning he explained that as I was praying  at midnight he had left the car to visit the rest room.   As his back was to the door a bunch of gang  members approached him and hit him in the back of  the head with a large slat of wood.  Stunned, he turned, and as he stood there he was infused with supernatural strength and proceeded to fight off his attackers.  He threw them into walls and watched them slide down to the floor, (picture it). As he stood there waiting for them to get up they all jumped up and ran from him in terror.  He said when he walked out of the rest room he didn’t see them anywhere.

He was just one teenager and there were many of them.

I wondered what would have happened if I hadn’t been obedient to pray.  I know there must have been a band of angels in this case, posted as sentry’s all around that rest room giving Jason supernatural strength.  Or maybe he just thought he was doing the fighting and it was really a warrior angel.  Simple obedience when we are called to pray is key.

My step-daughter, Christina, was a new driver and she and her Dad had bought a Miata convertible for her to drive to and from school.  She was driving down the freeway one day with the top down and leaned over for a brief second to adjust the radio, and lost control of her car and over corrected.  It hit the dirt on the side of the road and flipped upside down on the side of the road, which was a slight incline.  The car just continued to turn over and landed right side up.  There was no explanation when the Highway Patrol came as to why the car continued to roll uphill and land right side up with her still sitting in the passenger seat stunned but unharmed.  Where was her head as it hit the ground upside down with no top on the car?  I instantly recognized the work of her angel keeping her sitting in that seat and not being thrown out of the car.

When I was a young mom I remember one Christmas that there was no money.  My kids were around 12 and 8  and I could barely pay the bills, let alone buy presents for  them.  I had them gather with me in prayer that God would provide a Christmas for us miraculously.  I told them that God would provide for  fun Christmas for them.

We believed together that God would send an angel our way.  One night around bed time there came a knock at the door.

praying-womanWe all three ran to the door, expecting.  There was a lady standing there whom we did not know.  She handed us an envelope with $200 in it and said it was from God.   I looked at the kids and then back at this heavenly messenger and all I could see of her was  her back as she hurried down the street and then she was gone.  

I bought Christmas gifts for my amazed kids and they will  always remember the Christmas that God bought our  presents.

If only we would live in expectancy for His constant intervention we would experience true kingdom living at its best. 

I was very intrigued by the concept of angels and their role in protecting my children. I had read in Matthew how the angels that watch over our children were special angels that always behold the face of our Father.

angel“Take heed that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you that in Heaven their angels do always behold the face of My Father who is in Heaven”  Matthew 18:10

These angels have special access to the face of God. 

Didn’t He say that if anyone harm a child, it would be better for  him if a millstone is tied around his neck, and he be cast into  the sea, than to have to face God’s wrath?  Oh yes, God is  very watchful over our kids and they have their own very  special angels that reports back to God.

There was the time I walked out into the front yard to check on  my 4-year-old, and witnessed him riding his Hot Wheel Trike  like a hot rod from driveway to driveway across the street.  

It happened so fast I didn’t have time to even scream. 

He was heading into a driveway with a hedge that blocked his  view.  There was a pickup truck backing out at the same time  and he was heading right into its path.  In a split seconds time I witnessed an unseen force grab the wheel of his trike and jerk it into the curb and stop his ascent into the path of the truck.  An angel stepped in at that moment to keep him safe

I had to leave my 2 year old little girl with a friend one day so that I could attend a seminar.  The friend was to pick Heather up that morning and drive to her home.  On the way, Heather was sitting on the passenger side happily eating a dry bowl of Cheerios. 

A car came out of nowhere and plowed into Heather’s side of the car, totaling the car, and sending my friend to the hospital on a stretcher.  It happened to be in front of a church, and my husband was called immediately to come.  When he arrived an EMT was sitting in the church holding our baby on his lap.  Heather was laughing and had totally charmed the young man. 

I was told that somehow, miraculously, she did not leave her seat upon impact, and was totally uninjured (that was in the days before car seats or seat belts were required and that horrifies me now). 

Her Cheerios were scattered all over the car– but she never left the seat!  And whereas a child is usually traumatized by this kind of accident, she wasn’t shaken in the least. 

When I finally arrived back home I had to examine her myself, of course.  There on her little back was one bruise in the shape of a thumb print where her angel held her in place as the car was crashed into.  I think God allowed the thumb print to be there to allow me to see His protection for my children.  There could be no other explanation.

When Jason was about 5 he began asking me about God’s angels and could he see them.  Not wanting to quench the faith of a child, I explained that angels were spirits and that normally we can’t just see angels unless God lets us.

Jason said he was going to pray and ask God to let him see an angel.  This kid had prayed for a turtle once and every morning for 3 days in a row a turtle appeared on our front door step.   I told him to please pray and tell God to stop sending turtles.  

I had no doubt if he prayed to see an angel, he would!

The next morning we were sitting at the breakfast table.  Jason asked me why I came into his room the night before.  I said I didn’t. 

He said, “Yes, you did Mom.  I woke up and was scared, and called for you.  When you didn’t come, I asked God to take away my fear.  You then came into my room, and in the light that was shining through my bedroom window I saw you in a long, white nightgown.  Then you sat on my bed and rubbed my head until I went back to  sleep.”

1011820_364063210399583_6120095683013378170_nI said, “Son, that wasn’t Mom you saw.  You prayed for an angel and God brought one to you when you needed  to be comforted, and He let you see her.”  His little face just beamed at the recognition of what God had done for him.

Angels are mentioned at least 108 times in the Old Testament and 165 times in the New Testament.   They have all kinds of jobs to do and one of them is to assist those of us who are heirs of salvation through Jesus.   If you care to do your own study of angels and their purposes here are some places to look:   

•They are vast in number (Hebrews 12:22; Revelation 5:11).

1510622_841945859154537_781370328_n•They do not die (Luke 20:36).
•They are spirit beings (Hebrews 1:14).
•They are without bodies (Luke 24:39).
•They can assume bodily shape as people (Genesis 19:1-5).
•There is gender among them (Zechariah 5:9-11).

•They are wise, powerful, have personalities, are moral beings, and vastly inferior to God (2 Samuel 14:20; 2 Peter 2:11; Mark 8:38; 1 Peter 3:22; Hebrews 16).

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

