5 Things I Know By Experience About Actively Letting Go–And the Agony of It!

Letting-go21Actively letting go is a little more pro-active than when you are forced to let go. 

It’s a practice.

It’s being awake.

It can bring great relief.

Except for the agony of it!

It is not the same as “passively letting go”.  Like when you have no choice…whereby life rips stuff out of your grip, or you paint yourself into a corner, or life gets suddenly interrupted by a sudden loss.

gi-letting-go-butterfly11I’m talking about a decision to let go of something that only Jesus can heal or take care of. 

We are not saviors.  He is! 

5 Things I know by experience about actively letting go:

1. There’s always more to let go of.  Our life is a journey of surrender.  The sooner we realize we are not the fixers, the sooner we are released from the burden of trying to figure it all out.  And sometimes we have to let go of the same thing 100 times or more.

2. Letting go is painful – in varying degrees, and it is going to stretch you until you feel pain.  It leaves an emptiness, a place that the thing took up,  that you then have to ask Jesus to fill up for you.

3. When you find the strength in your spirit to be tough enough to let go, you cross over a sacred line.  And on the other side, His tenderness is waiting for you for He has just been waiting for you to release it, (or them, or whatever it is that you were holding onto).

4. Baby steps are okay, but you can’t avoid the pain that surfaces when you commit to the letting go and the longer you wait, the longer it takes to see Him fixing the thing you had a vice grip on.

5. Acceptance is obedience and obedience means intimacy with the One who stands there waiting patiently for you to get there.

emotional-painWhen you just accept that the pain of letting go is part of the deal, your let-go wound will heal faster.

I’ve had to let go of a dizzying amount of things in a relatively short amount of time:  

Our joint investigation business, a steady income as a result, my picture of what my ministry should look like by now, my books selling as fast as I wanted them too, adult children (whom God-is-doing-amazing things-in-their-lives-but-only-after-I-gave-up-trying-to-make-it-happen by-myself, and got out of His way), my house, my mother, our joint income, vacations as I knew them, Grandbabies growing up, a lifestyle I cherished, friends moving on…need I go on?   

Painful things. 

But I’ve surrendered to the endlessness of it.  And it’s a resolution that softens my spirit.  It is a solution of surrender…which means growth and trust and intimacy with the One that I trust to handle it all for me; the things out of my control…

Where I got in the way!

cupped handsDeep, deep, deep in my soul, beneath limits of time, and fantasies, and things I “captured” along the way that I thought I could fix, is the freedom that has been pulling me forward my whole life.  Forward right into His lap. 

jesus-and-meGazing into His eyes with my spirit, even though each and every time it is like cutting off an appendage, I let go of my priceless treasures that are outside of my control, and give it all to Him.

So I’m still shedding — taking deep breaths and actively letting go.  I’m not waiting until I’m ready to let go.  I’ve waited long enough.  Carried stuff long enough.  Longed long enough.

For lightness.

For that tender place, dancing with Him, on the other side of courage.

And you know what?  In each and every case after actively letting go, I have found the reality of truly living by faith…for He has never let me down.  

And I have delightfully discovered that He does a much better job of fixing than I can. 

378095_526317080764178_826390852_n-3So, take a deep breath, and as an act of faith, share with me those things you have truly let go of too! 

I would love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Know By Experience About Actively Letting Go–And the Agony of It!

  1. Popped over on Jeannie Pallett’s recommendation and loved this post.
    I need to surrender giving advice to my adult daughter who does not need it.
    I agree with actively letting go… of seeing it in the spirit…..and seeing it flutter away….
    I had to surrender and let go of wanting my mother to love me……me as I am…..
    I’ve had to surrender to God’s plans and purposes when I don;t understand them……BUT from experience I know His are always way better…but we don;t know that at the time…..
    You have expressed the process so beautifully with these words:
    So I’m still shedding — taking deep breaths and actively letting go. I’m not waiting until I’m ready to let go. I’ve waited long enough. Carried stuff long enough. Longed long enough.

    For lightness.

    For that tender place, dancing with Him, on the other side of courage.

    And you know what? In each and every case after actively letting go, I have found the reality of truly living by faith…for He has never let me down.

    And I have delightfully discovered that He does a much better job of fixing than I can.

    Amen, sister, amen. xxxx Mary, New Zealand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can so relate Mary…they are always our babies and it is hard to let go, but when we do it pays generous rewards!! thank you for commenting and blessings to you there in New Zealand!!

      Like

  2. Asking for your help while you are working on how to guide me me you sent me this to read and WOW! I have read this before but it really applies to right now. Surender over and over as I learn to let go. Your list of stuff you were/ are dealing with was so helpful that is one of the many things I love about you as my Coach you bring realness to our coaching. Rather it is during session or blogging/podcasting/books. You bring part of yourself that speaks to myself . This thought just popped into my head – God brought himself into human form in Jesus to be with ,work and teach us- Your right on track with the way God works. Thank you for in my moment of doubt and questions you made time to talk and direct me. This is so helpful and life changing I pray that others will find you. I feel more willing to be open too I hope that is growth

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

