My peace or His peace?

 

Our income has been sorely tried lately.  It has been a day to day trusting Jesus for provision.  He says to take no thought for tomorrow for His grace is sufficient for each day.  We have yet to go hungry or be late on a bill; with very little income and no work for 47 days.  I have found that though it occurs to me to start worrying, because that is what is normal in this kind of situation, I have found that I have been continuing on as if I don’t have a care.  I have even questioned myself as to why I am not afraid.  I have realized that there really is a place in God that we can attain where we are totally reliant on Him for every part of our lives.  It is really possible to ride the storms in His peace….for I have been experiencing it.

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” (Is 26:3 NLT)

What does that phrase mean exactly?  Okay, I had to think this through…what is perfect peace– especially at the times of our lives where we feel anything but peace?  What about when we lose our jobs?  Or our kids are out of control?  What happens when we are conflicted with a friend or family member?  Or, our marriage is troubled or a complete mess.  Or someone we love is very ill and we are filled with fear.  Or we are seriously ill?  If we don’t have his perfect peace at these times, believe me, others will know.

I asked the Lord how do I get there– at this place of perfect peace.  How do I find His peace in a time of unrest?

He said to me, “I want you to know Me.”

Oh, that I may know Him.

But, “Lord”, I said, “How do I know that I really know You?”

He said, “If I didn’t really know you as I should and I wanted to know you as an intimate friend what would I do?  I would have to find the time to talk to you and listen to you, hear your heart.  Meet with you regularly and faithfully.  I would come to love you and be in your presence every chance I could get.”

So, I started my quest to know Him in this way a long time ago.  I can honestly say I have actually experienced this supernatural peace and do walk in it.  Oh, there are trials and temptations, always.  For we have an enemy who certainly does not want us to be less than tormented.

Jesus’s peace is a fruit of His spirit.  It is ours for the asking.  It is not our own peace.  It is His.  To take on His fruit we have to know Him in an intimate way.  He is our peace.  It is His peace.  Within ourselves we do not have the ability to produce His kind of peace when our world is falling apart around us.  In Him we do because it is His peace we are taking on; simple as that.  How bad do you want it?  Do you want it enough to make Him the center of your existence?  He is no respecter of persons.  He doesn’t play favorites.  It will take some time and effort on your part.  But, oh my, it is worth it!!  We can know what is ours to walk in but if we don’t take the time and effort to make it happen we will just have the knowledge,  but never produce the fruit of it.

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:1 NLT

 

 

5 thoughts on “My peace or His peace?

  1. Dixie, this is so “right for the moment” for me. Last night I went to bed and I didn’t feel well. I had a weird pain in a place I don’t usually. My mind went through the litany of diagnoses. Then I thought, “no, I’m not worried about that.” So then I started wandering through the maze of things that “could be” bothering me. “No, I’m not worried about any of that,” I thought. But I still felt anxiety. Then I realized that if I were as close to Jesus as I wished, I would not be worrying about any of these things anyway!” Well said, my friend!

    Like

    • Thanks Linda!! I am so glad you have found His peace in the midst of all the physical trials you have endured. If people only knew the fullness of what you have faced they would marvel that you are a walking testimony of the peace that passes understanding….

      Like

  2. Thank you for leaving this devotional on my wall. I LOVE it and it goes with my Tuesday. I’m healing from the car accident, we haven’t had income in 6 weeks, I was in terrible pain and I got some potentially serious news. (Not ready to share until I know for sure.) Anyway, went to prayer group and over and over the message was to keep my eyes on Jesus. This morning I did some study and loved the thoughts of trusting HIS potter’s hands to keep shaping me to be more like Jesus, keeping my eyes on Him to the point all these circumstances don’t put me under. Just keep walking toward Him. Just keep leaning against Him. Just keep believing He is my peace.

    Like

    • Paula, thank you for your encouraging words that I am reaching people that He really wants to encourage in their present trials. I will be praying for you and actually have already when I read your wall just last week when we befriend each other. Just as with His peace, we have all of His fruit to incorporate into our lives. I will be praying for his perseverance in this trying time for you as well, and of course healing! Bless you for taking the time!! ♥

      Like

Leave a comment